If You Didn’t Think I Was Pretentious Enough – XIII

Something else from the vaults as long as I’m dusting off relics, that most angst-ridden of expressions, the poem/song. Also, if you ever needed proof that I am a truly irredeemable nerd you need seek no further. To these ends I give you the following.

XIII

For summers of steel, and winters lean
I fought for Caesar, and the bloody thirteen
Across the land, through storm and sand
Graves unmarked, but our hearts in Rome
I fought in Asia, and I fought in Gaul
Goths and Celts, I’ve fought them all
Franks and Vandals, beneath my sandals
Now the war is over, but I can’t go home!

Jupiter Optimus and blood-stained Mars
The honor is yours and the glory is ours
Never a doubt that I would do it again
But glory alone doesn’t feed my kin

I was promised a farm, with rich black earth
A free man’s dream, the harvest and hearth
I lost my hand, to a Parthian sword
But then all I got, was a kindly word
I did my tour, put in my time
Too many o’my brothers, heard Elysium’s chime
I honored the standard, I held the line
Now all I want, is what they said was mine!

Jupiter Optimus and blood-stained Mars
The honor is yours and the glory is ours
Never a doubt that I would do it again
But glory alone doesn’t feed my kin

Now could I stand, beside my band
Against our home, against sacred Rome
We’ll be damned for our scars, for crossing our stars
But we’ll defy our fate, and we’ll carry that weight!

Jupiter Optimus and blood-stained Mars
The honor is yours and the glory is ours
Never a doubt that I would do it again
But glory alone doesn’t feed my kin

For blood red summers, and winters cruel
We fought for the banner, our strength to rule
Across the world, our standard unfurled
But now our wars are over, and we’re all coming home!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

